Meet Emilie Cate, Staff Psychologist

Dr. Emilie Cate is a rock star on the CAPS team. Not only does she provide counseling for students, she plays a pivotal role in our outreach efforts to reduce the stigma of mental health issues and prevent suicide on campus. She’s also one of the most genuinely nice people you’ll ever meet. This week, take a moment to learn a bit about Emilie in our ongoing feature, Meet the CAPS Staff!

Dr. Emilie Cate

Emilie Cate, Ph.D.

What is your position at CAPS, and how long have you been working at UCSC?

I am excited to be starting my third year at CAPS.  I am a Counseling Psychologist and coordinator of the Student Mental Health Initiative (SMHI) grant funded by CalMHSA and Prop. 63 which is focused on suicide prevention, and increasing awareness and reducing stigma associated with mental health issues.

What is your favorite part of your job?

My favorite part of my job is being able to meet with UCSC students one-on-one to support them in reaching their goals and improving their overall sense of well being.  But as the grant coordinator, it is also been very fun to do a lot more outreach, training, and program development focused on prevention and intervention.

Tell our readers about one of your favorite spots on campus or in Santa Cruz.

The view from the East Field track.

What do you do to take care of yourself and relax?

Because I love the view from the East Field, I try to get out there several times each week to walk the track and enjoy the beauty of this campus.  I also enjoy playing tennis, trying to keep my vegetable garden alive, and spending quality time with family and friends exploring this amazing area.

What is one thing you wish you knew as a college student?

I was an undergraduate here at UCSC and am a proud banana slug alum!  When I was a student here, I wish that I knew more about how to recognize when I needed extra emotional or academic support, even when I *thought* I could handle it all by myself.  I wish I had known more about stress management, career counseling, and CAPS services!  UCSC has so many valuable resources and caring people on campus to help you reach your goals.  Sometimes it can be super difficult to take the first step and reach out for extra support, but it can be totally worth it!!

