Meet Quade French, Doctoral Psychology Intern

Twice a month, we’re profiling one of our CAPS staff members so that students can get to know us a little bit better. This week, we’re featuring Quade French, one of the three doctoral interns who is currently working at CAPS. Our interns are advanced, experienced trainees who serve as an integral part of the CAPS team, as they bring new expertise and energy to our work with students. Take a few moments to get to know one of the newest members of our staff!

Quade French, Doctoral Psychology Intern

Quade French, M.A.

What is your position at CAPS, and how long have you been working at UCSC?

I am in my first year at CAPS as a Doctoral Psychology Intern.  While I’m new to UCSC, I’ve spent the last 4 years training and completing my Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and at Hampshire College.  During this year I will be working with UCSC students in both individual and group therapy, in crisis services, and through various outreach events on campus.

What is your favorite part of your job?

I truly enjoy working with students to help them achieve a better understanding of the intersection between their own realities, and their past and present environments.  Social context, replete with stressors, stigmas, and joys, is profoundly impactful; understanding how a person moves through the world is critical.

Tell our readers about one of your favorite spots on campus or in Santa Cruz.

I am still exploring this wonderful part of California, and the campus is set in such a pristine location.  I especially enjoy the view as you drive down Hagar Dr. toward the ocean, and can see all of Santa Cruz.

What do you do to take care of yourself and relax?

Self-care is so important, regardless of who you are or where you are in your life.  As a graduate student, it can often feel like there is absolutely no time to relax, so I work hard to find time to take a step back, regain perspective, and enjoy my life as it is.  As large amounts of free time are hard to come by, I take great pleasure in a quiet walk to my next meeting, or finding a few minutes between tasks to sit and gaze out the window.  Some of my best ideas have come to me in these moments, when my mind can more passively process what I’ve been trying hard to actively think about.

What is one thing you wish you knew as a college student?

Looking back on my own undergraduate years, I wish I had connected with the ethnic resource centers on campus.  It would have been helpful for me to have had the guidance and support of others in the exploration of my culture of origin; it can seem like a daunting task when faced alone.  Because of this, I encourage any student who is interested to contact their ethnic resource centers and see how they can engage in personal growth outside of the classroom.

