Meet Maya Borgueta, Staff Psychologist

Twice a month, we have been bringing you our ongoing feature, Meet the CAPS Staff, where each staff takes some time to share a bit about themselves. This week, it’s my turn!

Maya Borgueta, Psy.D.

Maya Borgueta, Psy.D.

What is your position at CAPS, and how long have you been working at UCSC?

I am a staff psychologist with a focus on multicultural issues, and I’m located at Porter College. I do individual counseling with students from all different majors, colleges, and backgrounds, and I also really enjoy doing workshops and trainings for students and staff. This year, I’m facilitating a group for Queer and Questioning Women in collaboration with the Cantu Queer Center, and I serve as a staff liaison to the Ethnic Resource Centers, where I provide outreach and consultation. I also have been doing a lot of work on our blog and Facebook page!

What is your favorite part of your job?

College students are my favorite group to work with in counseling. They’re smart, motivated, and at a stage in their lives where they’re going through a ton of growth and change. I particularly love working with students in any forum where we can have group discussions, such as workshops or therapy groups. There are many things I can offer as an individual counselor, but I still think that nothing can replace getting support and feedback from peers.

Tell our readers about one of your favorite spots on campus or in Santa Cruz.

On campus, my favorite spot is the track, where I often go to run after work when the weather is good. It’s such a beautiful view it makes me forget how much work running is! Off campus, I am stoked to live by the beach for the first time in my life! Tourist traffic can get on my nerves, but I feel really lucky to live somewhere so beautiful and fun that people come to my neighborhood when they are taking their vacations.

What do you do to take care of yourself and relax?

I’m all about finding balance, and for me that means finding interests and activities outside of work that have nothing to do with psychology, so that I have time to recharge and develop other sides of myself. Music and dance are both important parts of my life that give me a creative outlet as well as connection to different communities. I’m also a bit of a sci-fi nerd, especially for anything having to do with time travel or space, and so when I’m not out being active, I’m often home curled up with a book or on Netflix. Finally, I’m a big animal lover! Spending time with my cat Gaius is always soothing (and often hilarious).

What is one thing you wish you knew as a college student?

The first two years of college were a bit rough for me because I hadn’t really found a place where I felt I totally fit in yet, and it was lonely. I seriously considered transferring to another school in the hopes it would be better elsewhere, although I ultimately decided to stick it out. I wish I had gotten involved early on with a group or club around one of my interests, because I think it wouldn’t have taken me nearly as long to find my community on campus. I also wish that I knew how many students struggle with the same feelings of isolation and loneliness on campus! As a counselor today looking back, I realize that so many students are also looking to make new friends at any given time. This idea that everyone’s already settled into the same friendship groups they’ll have for their college career by Winter Quarter of their first year is a total myth.

