CAPS Student Hero: Araceli Aviles

Twice a month, CAPS wants to give a little space on our blog to honor the amazing students who volunteer to support our mission at UCSC. We call them our CAPS Student Heroes, because their efforts do so much to help us continually improve our center. Keep an eye out on the 2nd and 4th Mondays every month to learn more about these great folks. Today, meet Araceli Aviles, one of our Student Advisory Board members. Thanks for all you do, Araceli!

Araceli Aviles

Araceli Aviles, Student Advisory Board Member

What’s your favorite part about being a UCSC student?

My favorite part about being a UCSC student is the emphasis that knowledge is more than grades. I love going to a University that cares about the type of person I become and how I contribute to the world, not just the GPA I end with.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

I am passionate about my family, practicing and teaching Non-Violent Communication, and the power of music. I am also passionate about promoting the theme of an on-campus club I am a part of, Stigma Slimers, which works to advocate and raise awareness of the stigma surrounding those with mental illness.

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

The one thing I wish everyone knew about CAPS is the many locations and counselors that can be found around campus, not simply in the CAPS department of the Health Center. I would love for students to be able to know more about their immediate resources through CAPS.

Araceli Aviles is a College Ten Senior, majoring in Psychology and minoring in Literature.
