Meet Christina Aranda, Postdoctoral Fellow

Today we’re sharing our last staff profile of the year! This is Dr. Christina Aranda, one of two fellows who is currently working at UCSC CAPS. Postdoctoral Fellows are a core part of our staff, not only taking on clinical cases and crisis responsibilities, but also providing ADHD screenings for our tearm. Take a few minutes today to get to know Christina!

Dr. Christina Aranda

Christina Aranda, Ph.D.

What is your position at CAPS, and how long have you been working at UCSC?

I am a postdoctoral fellow at CAPS and began working here August 2013. I am located at Crown College and provide crisis counseling, individual ongoing counseling, and group counseling. I also conduct ADHD screenings and take part in student outreach events.

What is your favorite part of your job?

I love working with students! Students are in a very unique time of their life and can be faced with many challenges. It is a joy to be able to work closely with students to make sure they have the resources to achieve their personal and educational goals.

Tell our readers about one of your favorite spots on campus or in Santa Cruz.

I am still exploring Santa Cruz, but so far my favorite place is the Santa Cruz Harbor. My favorite activity is grabbing a coffee and sitting on the sand so I can watch the seals play as boats go by. On campus, I love the view of the ocean from Cowell.

What do you do to take care of yourself and relax?

I love going for walks with my partner, daughter, and dogs. I enjoy writing historical fiction and reading fiction novels. I also love watching tv series on Netflix in a marathon session.

What is one thing you wish you knew as a college student?

I wish I knew that I didn’t need to figure everything out all on my own. I wish I knew that student groups and services were there for me to use and to feel better connected with others. I don’t think I even knew counseling services were available to me. If I could go back in time, I would have found a list of resources and would have taken advantage of them!

