CAPS Student Hero: Marlene Chow

Marlene Chow hopes to be a psychologist one day, but for now, she’s kicking butt and taking names as a member of the CAPS Student Advisory Board. She’s passionate about educating others about counseling and helping to de-stigmatize CAPS services. For that, and all you do, Marlene you are a CAPS Student Hero!

Marlene Chow

Marlene Chow, Student Advisory Board Member

What’s your favorite part about being a UCSC student?

I love the environment and people of UCSC. I’ve never been in such a community oriented area, and I love how friendly and caring the people of UCSC are.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

Outside of school, I love to volunteer my time to tutor kids and help them with homework.

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

CAPS is an amazing program, and it makes me sad to say that most students don’t utilize it’s benefits, when they easily can. Going to CAPS doesn’t make you crazy and it doesn’t mean something is wrong with you, and I wish more people would understand that.

Marlene Chow is a College Nine sophomore majoring in intensive psychology.
