Meet Susie Martinez, Doctoral Intern

As an intern in our APA-accredited program, Susie is in the final stages of her advanced training to become a psychologist, and is only a few short months away from her degree. Not only does she provide CAPS with valuable clinical services, she brings enthusiasm and approachability to our staff, as well as an awesome sense of humor. This week, Meet the CAPS Staff is pleased to feature this fantastic addition to the CAPS team!

CAPS Doctoral Intern

Susie Martinez, MS

What is your position at CAPS, and how long have you been working at UCSC?

I am one of the new faces at CAPS. I am a doctoral intern and I will be working with the UCSC students in individual and group counseling.

What is your favorite part of your job?

My favorite part of my job is seeing “AHA” moments. I have the amazing privilege of witnessing young students’ moments of, “Wow, I can do this!” or “I am so much greater than I ever gave myself credit for.” It is truly inspiring to see young people motivated and driven to change — bettering themselves and their community.

Tell our readers about one of your favorite spots on campus or in Santa Cruz.

I am hoping to become more and more familiar with the campus because I know very little about the cool spots. Same goes for the city of Santa Cruz. Growing up in central Texas I didn’t have easy access to the beach, so being just a few minutes from the beach is pretty amazing. I could definitely get used to it.

What do you do to take care of yourself and relax?

I love to spend time with family and friends when possible. I always say that hugs are my favorite type of self-care. Now that I am away from home it has been difficult to do that, but it means a lot of phone time, Skype, and e-mails. I have now adopted running on the beach…mostly because it makes me seem really health-conscious and “cool” when I tell my Texas friends I run on the beach. Nothing is more relaxing to me than being outdoors on a beautiful sunny day- walking, running, climbing, or just sitting reading a book.

What is one thing you wish you knew as a college student?

I wish I knew that I wasn’t the only one. There were several times that I wondered if anyone else was experiencing the same doubts, home sickness, fear, anxiety, etc. I wish I had known that many of us were probably in the same boat.

