Tackling your Mid-Winter Slump

Hello slugs! CAPS wishes you a happy new year and a warm welcome back to campus for Winter Quarter!

Before I get started, I’d like to briefly introduce myself. My name is Alina and I am a peer educator here at CAPS. This means I help out with advertising and facilitating programs put on by CAPS, and that I am extremely interested in the mental health and wellness of students. I am a fourth year student studying psychology and linguistics, and I also work as an RA in the College Nine and College Ten community. Additionally, I am a writing tutor for the College Ten core course, so I love writing. I will be blogging here from time to time, so expect to read more posts by me! I’m really excited about this, and I hope you are too!

Now, Winter Quarter is unfortunately a time when many college students hit a slump; they start to feel tired, uninspired, and detached from school and friends. These are all symptoms of something more commonly known as “burnout.” With the help of the internet and my own personal experience, I would love to offer tips and techniques for countering the burnout of winter quarter.

1) Make sure you’re getting enough sleep. This is something I’m definitely guilty of too… when I’m stressed and have a lot of work to do, sleep is the first thing to go out the window. Try aiming for at least 8 hours per night.

2) Start the day with a relaxing ritual. Instead of jumping out of bed as soon as the alarm rings, try meditating for 15 minutes. I like to start off the day by reading some articles online, or reading a chapter of a book. Doing something soothing eases you up and helps you take care of yourself a little better.

3) Set boundaries for yourself. Sure, the sky is the limit… but you need to realize that taking care of yourself is the most important thing. Everyone has different levels of stress that they are able to maintain. Don’t compare yourself to others, and think about what works best for YOU. If you constantly feel stressed out and like you have too much on your plate, you might need to reevaluate your choices.

4) Take a break from technology. I know that this piece of advice sounds archaic in this time and age. But try it, and see how you feel afterwards. Try just turning your phone and laptop off for half an hour. Interact with your friends face-to-face. Or just do something creative – I love sketching painting. Maybe try something physical, like taking a hike in the forest.

These are just a few of my tips that I use to try to keep my energy up so that I won’t get burned out. Hopefully you felt like you learned something new. Remember, you are never alone and there are resources available for you if things get too overwhelming. Good luck slugs!

PS: Here is a picture of my cat. Clearly, she understands the importance of getting enough sleep and staying relaxed!

Sleeping Apricot

