CAPS Student Hero: Grace Shefcik

Grace Shefcik - Peer Educator

Grace Shefcik – Peer Educator

Welcome back to CAPS Student Heroes, and we hope you feel reinvigorated for Winter Quarter! With the beginning of the new year, we would like to introduce one of our newest Peer Educators at CAPS, Grace Shefcik! Grace has been assisting in designing our CAPS Peer Educator Program t-shirts for the upcoming year. Thanks for everything, Grace!

What’s your favorite part about being a UCSC student?

My favorite part about being at UCSC is the sense of community the university has. I feel very comfortable and welcomed here. The people I have met have encouraged me to pursue and consider different opportunities I wouldn’t have otherwise, and consequently, the best people I have meet here have been through these organizations that have strong community.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

I love writing, reading (predominately Sylvia Plath & Carl Jung), and watching movies (my favorite is American Beauty). I’m passionate about social issues – predominately regarding the ways in which most issues disproportionally affect different communities, of which many are silenced. Additionally, I’m incredibly interested in the German language and spend a fair amount of time practicing it and day-dreaming of Germany. I also enjoy painting, swimming, and biking.

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

That CAPS is a great resource to be used and is a welcoming environment. It’s important to remember that even if you have faced stigma with your friends, family, or peers, that CAPS will not stigmatize or delegitimize your respective feelings or state. There are so many different ways CAPS can help a given individual, and it is important that students are aware of the various forms of services offered.

Grace Shefcik is a 2nd year student affiliated with College Ten. She is majoring in Cognitive Science.

