CAPS Student Hero: Hilaria Barajas

Hilaria Barajas - Peer Educator

Hilaria Barajas – Peer Educator

Thanks for tuning in to our bi-monthly feature of our CAPS Student Heroes. This week we’ll be shining the spotlight on Hilaria Barajas, one of our incredible Peer Educators for this year! We appreciate all that you do, Hilaria!

What’s your favorite part about being a UCSC student?

I really enjoy going to school in the middle of the forest. The campus is ridiculously beautiful and at any point I can run into some deer or come across some amazing views. I really enjoy finding secret spots in the forest where students have decorated or created something awesome. I think UCSC has a pretty unique culture and I feel grateful to be a part of it.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

I feel passionate about trying new things and exploring my surroundings. I enjoy meeting new people, traveling, creating and appreciating art, listening and discovering music, learning about culture, going to concerts, eating and pretty much just discovering new things about myself and everything around me. I also really enjoy volunteering and I hope to help others in my future career through psychology and sociology!

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

CAPS is a tool created for YOU to use! It is all about the student and they really do care about your well being and want you to succeed here. It’s okay to ask for help when you need it, especially as a college student where you’re expected to juggle a million things on top of dealing with all your basic human emotions and feelings. Its confidential and free so if you’re at all curious, it would not hurt to try!

Hilaria Barajas is a second year student affiliated with College Nine. She intends to declare an Intensive Psychology major.

One thought on “CAPS Student Hero: Hilaria Barajas

  1. Pingback: Losing Somebody You Love – Advice for How to Cope | UCSC CAPS

Comments are closed.