Improve Your Focus with Cute Animals!

Hello lovely people!

Puppy

As all of you know, we’re now in Week 7, a time when many of us want to end the quarter and are losing focus. However, I have done some extensive and painful research, and I have discovered that… cute animals may be a way for you to improve your focus! (Hahaha, okay, my research was actually the highlight of my day, NOT painful!)

A 2012 study by Hiroshi Nittono found that looking at “cute” pictures of baby animals can facilitate improved performance on detail-oriented tasks that require concentration. According to Nittono, “viewing cute images makes participants behave more deliberately and perform tasks with greater time and care.”

Clearly, this means that I need to incorporate more cute animal pictures and videos into my daily routine. To help y’all out with YOUR concentration, I have included some of my favorite videos:

Baby pig going down the stairs:

Kitten in a hamster ball:

Daschund playing fetch with himself:

Kitten meeting a hedgehog:

Just don’t get so focused on these cute videos that you procrastinate on your actual homework! CAPS (and I) wish you the best of luck for the rest of the quarter!

And in case you’re interested, here is the research article from Hiroshi Nittono:

Nittono, H., Fukushima, M., Yano, A., & Moriya, H. (2012). The power of kawaii: Viewing cute images promotes a careful behavior and narrows attentional focus. PloS ONE. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0046362

