CAPS Student Hero: Marisa Patel

Marisa Patel - CAPS Peer Educator

Marisa Patel – CAPS Peer Educator

Hello everyone, and thanks for checking out our Friday feature of CAPS Student Heroes! This week we are proud to introduce Marisa Patel! She is an amazing member of our CAPS Peer Educator Program for this year. Thanks for all you do, Marisa!

What’s your favorite part about being a UCSC student?

I love the location of our campus. Throughout my time here at UCSC I’ve grown to appreciate the peaceful environment, and the many animals that I can count on to walk me to my classes – especially the squirrels. What I love most, though, is that on any given night I can look up at the sky and admire the tons of stars.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

Dance is something that I am very passionate about; without it, I feel incomplete. I joined a Bollywood dance team when I was nine years old, and have continued dancing throughout college. Currently, I am part of PDT (Pagkakaisa Dance Troupe), which is the traditional dance team housed under the Filipino Student Association. I’m glad I stepped outside of my comfort zone and joined PDT, because otherwise I would have missed out on such a fun and beautiful culture. Lately, I’ve been into trying new foods with my roommates. Recently, I tried oysters and clams. It was weird, but tasted so good. When I’m not dancing or eating with my friends, I’m usually volunteering somewhere in Santa Cruz. I’ve volunteered at the Beach Flats Community Center, Bonny Doon Elementary School, and am currently an intern at Laurel St. Center. Volunteering at these sites has taught me a lot about time management and the importance of being a member of the Santa Cruz community outside of campus.

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

Know that you have a place to turn to if you ever need someone to talk to. If you don’t want to set up an appointment with a counselor just yet, you can start off by going to Let’s Talk. At Let’s Talk you can have a free, anonymous conversation with a CAPS counselor, and go from there. CAPS also offers free workshops and support groups led by a welcoming and professional staff. Plus, CAPS has a massage chair that you can use however often you’d like to, also for free.

Marisa Patel is a fourth year Intensive Psychology major affiliated with College Ten. 

One thought on “CAPS Student Hero: Marisa Patel

  1. Pingback: ICYMI – CAPS has a Relaxation Station! | UCSC CAPS

Comments are closed.