CAPS Student Hero: Michelle Vo

One of our newer initiatives at CAPS is our Peer Education Program (PEP). The CAPS peers support the mission of our counseling center by fighting stigma, facilitating workshops, helping with marketing, and other projects. If you’d like to help out at CAPS like today’s hero Michelle, keep an eye on the blog in upcoming weeks for information on volunteer opportunities.

241DB44C-53E8-484E-9AD1-D5CEE2C4B593

What do you do regularly to relieve stress? 

Whenever I am stressed, I like to spend time by myself to relax my mind but at the same time I like to prioritize my schedule and responsibilities, here are some examples!

  1. Take a nice walk by myself with my headphones on; listening to my favorite songs ‘Slow Dancing in a Burning Room’ by John Mayer and ‘Me and Mrs. Jones’ by Michael Buble!
  2. People watch from a coffee shop or a shady bench on campus.
  3. Take a walk at West Cliff Drive or at the beach.
  4. Most importantly, I like to map out the things I have to do and take action! I remind myself to pace myself and make sure my plate is not too full.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

I’m interested in Asian American communities and their connection to mental illnesses. As a Vietnamese American student, I’ve seen both sides of the spectrum. I’ve witnessed the differences of how mental illnesses are treated/untreated and I want to be able to be a resource for my own community!  Something else I’m passionate about is social justice issues regarding gender differences,  and equal rights and opportunities for marginalized communities. Being aware and knowledgeable about these issues is a step further into educating others and inspiring action within the community. I also enjoy spending time petting, walking, cuddling, loving all sorts of dogs! I have three little puppies at home.

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

Something I want to share with all my slug peers is that after interacting with many CAPS faculty, I can say with confidence that all of the CAPS counselors are very well trained, approachable, and wholeheartedly caring of their campus community.

Michelle Vo is a fourth year Intensive Psychology major affiliated with College Nine. 

 

