CAPS STUDENT HERO: Katherine Chadbourne

Hello! We hope that everyone is looking forward to their much-deserved break this week. This week we are proud to introduce the illustrious Katherine Chadbourne: she is a returning member to the CAPS Peer Educator Program. Thanks for all you do, Katherine!

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 4.18.07 PM

What do you do regularly to relieve stress

The first thing I usually do when I’m stressed is make a list of everything I have to do, and check things off as I go. It really makes everything feel manageable when I’m able to see what I’ve done and what I have left to do. I’ll also listen to music and bake something to take a break from whatever’s stressing me out, that way I can go back in with a clear head.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

I’m really passionate about volunteering. I volunteer in an elementary school and I just love that I’m able to interact with children and help them learn. They’ve impacted me in such a positive way, and I love seeing their smiling faces when I walk in the classroom, and their expression when they finally understand a math problem we’ve been working on is the best! I also love travelling- I lived in Europe for a few years when I was younger and I studied abroad last year, and I took every opportunity I had to explore somewhere new. It’s so important to me to learn about and experience different cultures, and I’m always daydreaming about and planning trips I want to take in the future. I’m also passionate about my family, friends, cooking, and hiking.

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

I want my fellow students to know that CAPS has so many amazing resources that are available to help students with anything, whether they just want to talk with someone, or are struggling with a bigger issue. It’s free and confidential, and going to CAPS doesn’t mean anything is wrong with you! CAPS is here for us, so take advantage of the services!

Katherine Chadbourne is a fourth year Psychology major affiliated with College Nine

