CAPS STUDENT HERO: Hilaria Barajas

The intrepid Hilaria Barajas often leads the charge in ideas and projects here at PEP, so we are long overdue in introducing her to the student body for which she serves!

12ApREUs2RyNNCM2cI00xmf7n24yt2eWjqugd2gHX6UTbFKDhD-xLdOWgIa8od8IUBkXnTZVch0A25o-1ug3V23puM8TgrOfplazMUZandC91T-fZmuUCDMiURzFnXNenmQcqZr1

What do you do regularly to relieve stress? 

Meditation in bed before I sleep helps me deal with stress. I enjoy being completely alone and within myself for those few minutes of complete non-judgment and deep breathing. At first it was difficult to focus my thoughts inwards since my mind tends to wander all over the place. Stopping to address and thank my mind for working the way it does helped me feel comfortable in my own silence. I still get distracted sometimes, but practice helps!

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

I am passionate about my communities and the future. I like to try new things that allow me to learn more about myself and my surroundings, whether that be through music, connecting with people or nature, eating, dancing, writing, etc. I am passionate about shaping my own future and in turn shaping the future of my communities.    

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

CAPS is here for YOU. It is centered around students and student mental health needs. College is stressful and It’s okay to ask for help. CAPS is completely confidential and free so if you’re even a little bit curious, try it out.

Hilaria is a third year Psychology major affiliated with College Nine

 

