CAPS Student Hero: Kyle Retzer

Hey Slugs! Can you believe the quarter is halfway over? Most of us are in the middle of midterm season right about now! So to add a little cheer to our mid quarter struggle, I’d like to introduce you all to a very special Peer Educator, Kyle! Kyle is one of our new Peer Educators and they are already making a huge impact in our team with their positive attitude and dedication to destigmatizing mental health! Without further ado, meet Kyle!

kyle-retzerWhat do you do regularly to relieve stress?

With school and everything else that goes on in our busy, college lives, stress is inevitable. To relieve that excess amount that I’d rather not have, I usually relax and play some video games or watch some TV with my housemates and friends. Sometimes, I will also take a trip back home to visit family and get away from everything.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

I would say that I am pretty passionate about music as I have been playing instruments since I was 9. Throughout my years of playing, I’ve learned six different instruments. Currently my baby is the tenor saxophone, which I’ve been playing since high school. I’ve played a lot of different styles and genres but my favorite to play is jazz.

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

It might seem really scary and a daunting task to reach out, but CAPS is an extremely welcoming environment and all of the staff there truly care about you and your well being. There are many different resources accessible, all for you and your well being.

Kyle is a second year student, majoring in Intensive Psychology, and they are affiliated with Cowell College.

