CAPS STUDENT HERO: CAMARA CHEA

Today I have the pleasure of introducing you to one extremely hard working and dedicated Peer Educator! Camara has been a part of the Peer Education program longer than any other student, and her bright smile and enthusiasm for her work continues to inspire the group more and more each year. So take a minute to read on and get to know Camara, and I’m sure you’ll be very happy that you did!

What do you do regularly to relieve stress?

When I’m feeling stressed, I like to identify what’s stressing me out; organize my schedule; list out the things I have to do; listen to music; take a small break to decompress; talk with a close friend or family member; and complete some of the tasks on my to-do list. In general, to help img_9759maintain my sense of general wellbeing, I also try to get enough sleep, eat healthy, and exercise (even though at times it can be difficult to achieve this balance amid classes and work!). It also helps me a lot to put things into perspective, practice gratitude, and remind myself that I can get through it. Stress is one of those things that never really goes away forever, so, for me, it’s all about learning to manage it and control it in a healthy, balanced way. I’m always going to have stress, but I can do what I can to minimize its negative effects and adjust my life accordingly.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

Outside of school, I am really passionate about my Resident Advisor job, which actually takes up a lot of my time outside of my classes and Psych research labs. It is definitely worth it though, because being an RA adds a lot of meaning and awareness and to my life and it has really shaped my identity and helped me grow as a person. It’s a good feeling to know that you’re positively shaping your community and purposely helping make it into a better place. Other than that, my other interests and activities include spending time with my family and friends, going to concerts and events, staying active, going shopping and eating out, making arts and crafts, and doing what I can to hopefully get into a Counseling Psychology doctoral program in the future!

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

CAPS is a resource here for you! No one person is an island. If you are struggling and feeling like you are having a hard time managing things, it could really benefit you to talk to a professional counselor, like the ones here at CAPS. And it doesn’t make you crazy or insane–it’s completely normal to reach out. Realize that many of your peers also go through a similar process: you’re not alone. Plus, CAPS has a lot of different services and people available to help you out, with different mental health professionals, workshops, support groups, and more! Just know that it is always here for you if you feel like you need some extra help.

Camara is a fourth year student, majoring in Intensive Psychology and minoring in Sociology, and she is affiliated with Cowell College.

