CAPS STUDENT HERO: MELISSA NEWTON

 

Hello everyone! Thanks for checking out the CAPS blog today! We’re excited to introduce you to a wonderful returning Peer Educator! Melissa has been a fantastic addition to the Peer Education Program for the last two years. Her hard work, positive spirit, and vivacious personality wholeheartedly embodies the message that CAPS wishes to relay to students. Now let’s find out what Melissa likes to do in her free time!

What do you do regularly to relieve stress?

To relieve stress, I regularly take breaks and spend time with friends and roommates. I also do yoga to help reduce physical stress along with the emotional stress. I have found that laughing helps me more than almost anything, so taking the time to laugh (with friends and family, watching a comedy, or on Tumblr) is extremely important to me.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g.FullSizeRender, clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

This year I am excited and passionate to be the treasurer of Psi Chi, which is UCSC’s Psychology Honor Society on campus. We foster students’ academic achievement, relationships with faculty, and develop a community of students passionate about psychology. Another passion of mine is soap making. Making soap from scratch is incredibly fun. I have perfected a recipe and I add colors, scents, and herbs to the soap to make it even more lively. I’m also obsessed with dinosaurs and plants.

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

I want my peers to know that CAPS is a genuinely welcoming space. They offer many services other than traditional, one-on-one therapy for anyone seeking more support, and above all, that seeking support is normal and okay and can be really helpful!

Melissa is a fourth year Intensive Psychology major, and she is affiliated with Cowell College.

