CAPS STUDENT HERO: KIMBERLY BALMOREZ

I’m pleased to introduce you all to another wonderful Peer Educator, Kimberly! This is Kimberly’s first year with PEP and she has already filled the space with creative ideas and a great eye! Read on to learn more about Kimberly.

What do you do regularly to relieve stress?

Being a part of different communities helps me to stress less, because I know that I have people I love there to support me. I enjoy spending my free time expressing my creativity through writing poetry or painting and hanging out with friends or family. Listening to music and discoveProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetring new forms of art are passions of mine. I try to treat myself to a concert every once in a while or meet up with friends to have a jam session as a reward for being productive. In the future I hope to build off of the experiences I have had with working with youth, health, education, technology, and art by pursuing public health and continuing to volunteer in the many communities that I am a part of.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

Hello! My name is Kimberly Balmorez and I am from the Bay Area. I am a third year majoring in Sociology and minoring in Education. Some groups that I have been involved with on campus include the Filipino Student Association (FSA), Isang Himig A Capella (IH), Counseling and Psychological Services Peer Education Program (CAPS PEP), Everett Program, Experiential Leadership Program (ELP), and Engaging Education

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

I am excited to be a part of CAPS’ Peer Education Program and hope to dispel any fears that people have in seeking support for whatever issues they are dealing with.

Kimberly is a third year student majoring in Sociology with a minor in Education.

