CAPS STUDENT HERO: ADITI SHETH

It has come time to post our final student hero for the 2016-2017 Academic year! Read on to get to know our final, fantastic Peer Educator, Aditi, and then you will have met our entire team! Aditi is a great finale because she is an essential part of our team with her work in creating 2 workshops on campus and her work as our Workshop Coordinator. Aditi’s tireless efforts are a huge part of what makes our group function and we can’t thank her enough for all that she does!

What do you do regularly to relieve stress?

When I get stressed I like to decompress. When I’m really stressed, my feelings and emotions tend to build to tDSC_0081he point where I have to create environments for myself that are less stimulating. The ways that I do that are unplugging, reading a good book or watching a good tv show. I recently learned of a new type of deep breathing exercise through the CAPS Stress Less presentation and started incorporating it into my routine. It works really well.

Tell us about something you’re passionate about outside of school (e.g., clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)

I’m passionate about a lot of things! I love children and I enjoy working with them on their academics and overall well being. I like keeping active and I enjoy such sports as tennis and baseball. I recently started kickboxing and it’s a lot of fun. I also like curling up with a good book and keeping my finger on the pulse of pop culture, watching TV and movies.

If you could share one thing that you’d like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?

If I could tell my peers anything about CAPS, I would say that CAPS services are confidential, and genuinely there to help you, no matter what you think the size or the scope of the problem is. CAPS works on a day to day basis to help students deal with their individual stresses, but beyond this, they work hard reduce the stigma associated with seeking mental health services. They consider both the battle and the war. And that’s really important.

Aditi is a third year Intensive Psychology major, affiliated with Crown.

