SIMPLICITY IS KEY

As students, we spend a lot of our time worrying about things that we have no control over. Is this class going to be hard? How am I going to get into grad school? What if this TA is a harsh grader? And while analyzing our problems and looking for solutions can be a healthy problem-solving skill, there comes a point when it gets to be too much. Many of the things we worry about are things we cannot control, and our worry does not solve the problem, it only increases our heart rate and our blood pressure and decreases our sleep and energy levels. Therefore, it’s important to remember the role that simplicity can have in your life at times. By taking a step back, taking a deep breath and pausing in your analysis, you may find peace in the simplicity you find. Read on to learn more about how to find this simplicity.

 

SIMPLICITY IS KEY

by Harsimran Kaur
Watching the clouds hover over me, I wonder why simplicity simply diminishes as we grow older. Where did that child in us go? That child was simply content with the little things in life, and forgot the bad in a matter of minutes. Around me, I see all these complications being created from within and sent as boundaries between one and their happiness. I see myself doing this as well. Overanalyzing, overthinking and bringing myself down over something I could simply let go of. The sun rises and the sun sets, yet we complicate the hours in between. This can be through worrying about what others think, overthinking a situation, being too hard on yourself, not positively coping with the stressors around us, or simply just letting ourselves get wrapped up in the society around us.

Within a society that is so fast paced and  money based we tend to lose the simplicity of life. I do recognize that some obstacles we come across are simply complicated, and it can be hard to break them down into more manageable parts. However, some situations like peer relations, family, school, extracurriculars and more, can often be simplified if we let them be. It’s best to step back, see the bigger picture and think of how we can make things simpler for ourselves on a daily basis. In the end, I believe that things work out for the best, and we should strive to be ourselves and keep the big picture in mind. For me, this not only helps me deal stress, but keeps me in check with my long term goals and values.

