LIVE YO LIFE

During finals week, our worlds can seem so small because every bit of our energy becomes focused on our grades, our exams, and just trying to get by. So take a moment to open up your world and read on to hear about Peer Educator, Becky’s reminder to care for yourself! Have a great summer slugs!

 

LIVE YO LIFE. LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL. THE LITTLE THINGS IN LIFE MATTER CUS LIFE IS TOO SHORT. THEREFORE, FUDGE WHAT PEOPLE THINK (BC HATERS GONNA HATE AND LIL’ BY LIL’ YOU FIND OUT WHO THE REAL ONES ARE)- JUST LIVE IT UP

by Rebeca Najarro

 

I know my title is not like a typical title. It’s too long. It’s too wordy. It’s too weird. It’s not classy. I’ll stop now though, by saying that it’s still a proper title because it captures exactly what I am trying to say.

Last week, I went to the Merrill Garden (also known as the Chadwick Garden) and I got a free plant! I know, it doesn’t seem like a big deal, but to me it meant the world. You may still be asking yourself, however, why does a free plant mean so much to her?

Well, I think it’s the little things that matter. A tiny plant that I can take care of (which reminds me, I need to water it) 

is something. It’s a miniscule part of the world that we ignore because we are too preoccupied with our busy lives. It sounds cliché but life really is short, especially living in this capitalistic nation where we are constantly fighting against the system that oppresses us each and every day. That’s another story though.

Anyways, I’ve been too caught up caring about what I do, what I post, what I eat, etc. that I forget about myself. I forget that there are other things in the world that can make me happy besides my grades, my involvement, and other people. I have been disregarding the beauty of life, the water, the plants, the flowers the air, and other things that aren’t nature-related. As I listen to Frank Ocean’s “Swim Good,” I realize that sometimes you just have to swim from something bigger than you, kick off your shoes, and swim good! Forget about what’s stressing you and self-care. I bet you didn’t think I would make some kind of tie to psychological well being, but I must, after all this is the CAPS blog. For me, my plant (named Free Plant) is my form of self-care. I am technically caring for something else, but it soothes me and reminds me that there are smaller things that need love and care too!

